Scholarships and Awards

Community Studies students may apply for a number of other special scholarships and fellowships.  Some are designed specifically to help defray the costs associated with full-time field study. In addition, there are private scholarships that may be of interest to Community Studies students. Also please check out the UCSC Scholarship web site for additional scholarship opportunities.

The Nancy Pascal Field Study Scholarship

Awarded annually to students who participate in field study programs. The scholarship is intended to encourage and support real-world experiences that complement formal academic requirements. Nancy Pascal established the scholarship in honor of her retirement after 32 years of dedicated service to UC Santa Cruz in the the Registrar's Office.

Guidelines, deadlines, and the application form can be downloaded here.

The Elizabeth Butler Scholarship 

The Elizabeth Butler Scholarship was created to memorialize the life of Community Studies alumna Elizabeth (Beth) Butler (’96). It was awarded for the first time in Spring 2016 and is open to Community Studies majors pursuing their full time field study in Santa Cruz. 

Guidelines, deadlines, and the application form can be downloaded here.

The Community Studies Field Study Scholarship

This scholarship is generously funded by the Koffend family as well as Community Studies alumni, family and friends who contributed to our Giving Day Campaigns in support of field study.  It provides scholarships to support Community Studies students going on field study.

Guidelines, deadlines, and the application form can be downloaded here.

The Cynthia Mathews Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to students in any UC Santa Cruz department or program who are pursuing studies or internships related to reproductive rights, health policy, healthcare professions, or public health.  It was established in 2007 through the generous donations of friends, family and colleagues of Cynthia Mathews to honor her 40 years of outstanding service in the area of reproductive health.

Guidelines, deadlines, and the application form can be downloaded here.

William Friedland Award

Awarded annually since 2001 to the student who best exemplifies the social and academic commitment embodied in the department Professor Friedland founded in 1969.  Nominees are identified and selected by program faculty and the award is announced at the Community Studies graduation ceremony.

The Joel Frankel Memorial Scholarship

Awards grants to UCSC students who are planning to pursue field studies in Latin America or within Spanish speaking communities in the United States. The purpose of the fund is to learn from and assist in social change initiatives originating in Latin America and/or Latino communities.

Contact the Department of Latin American and Latino Studies for more information


The Gabriel Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship

The Gabriel Zimmerman Memorial Scholarship provides financial support to a UCSC undergraduate student in the social sciences who is committed to public service.

For more information, visit the Zimmerman web page:


The Deans' and Chancellor's Undergraduate Awards

These awards recognize outstanding achievements by undergraduate students within an academic division (Arts, Engineering, Humanities, Physical & Biological Sciences, Social Sciences). Ten Deans' Awards are given to students within each division. Of those students, up to three in each division can be selected to receive a Chancellor's Award. Historically, Community Studies students have been extremely well-represented among the recipients of these honors.

The Steck Award

An award honoring the finest senior thesis completed during the academic year. The Steck Award winner is chosen from the Chancellor's Award candidates. In 2004, Max Krochmal received the Steck Award for his thesis "Sculpting Transnational Unionism - Building a Democratic Labor Movement in Ecuador's Banana Fields".

UCSC Blum Scholar Grant Awards 
The UCSC Blum Scholars award program enables undergraduate and graduate students to pursue a community-based research project either domestically or abroad that addresses poverty, social enterprise, or participatory governance. Awards are for up to $2,000.

More information on the Blum Scholar Grant Awards found here.